Indonesia Suspends Visit and Stay Visas for Indian Citizens

Indonesia officially stops issuing visas for foreign citizens who have lived and/or visited India within 14 days starting on Sunday (25/4/2021). The decision was announced by the Chairman of the Committee for Handling Covid-19 and National Economic Recovery (KPC-PEN) Airlangga Hartarto in a virtual press conference, Friday (23/4/2021).

Airlangga said that currently, several countries, including Hong Kong, New Zealand, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Britain, Singapore, and Canada had banned travel from India.

“The provisions will be followed by a circular letter from the Director-General of Immigration at the Ministry of Law and Human Rights, as well as from other institutions related to this. This regulation will be temporary and will continue to be reviewed, “explained Airlangga.

The Covid-19 situation in India is getting worse. This country managed to set a new record by reporting 314.835 cases of Covid-19 in a day on Thursday, April 22.

This has caused concern for health services in India regarding the handling and shelter of Covid-19 patients. Several hospitals in northern and western India, including New Delhi, have issued notifications that oxygen stocks are running low. The hospitals reported that they only had a few hours of medical oxygen needed to keep Covid-19 patients alive.

Last Friday Soekarno Hatta Immigration Office Friday refused the entrance for 32 passengers who arrived in Indonesia after boarding an Emirates Airline flight with flight number EK356. The plane flew from Dubai, United Arab Emirates, and arrived in Indonesia at 15.30.

The Head of Information Technology and Immigration Communication department (TIKIM) Sam Fernando confirmed that 32 passengers were repatriated back to their country from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport at 00.40 WIB on Sunday, boarding an Emirates Airlines flight with flight number EK359 for the final destination of Dubai.

“Soekarno-Hatta immigration measures are in line with the policy issued by the Directorate General of Immigration on April 23, 2021. The contents of this policy regulate the refusal to enter foreigners who have a history of travel from Indian territory within 14 days before entering Indonesian territory,” Sam concluded.

Source: Travel Kompas, Liputan

Photo by: Liputan / Pramita Trisitiawati

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *